Skip to content
type1.science

TUFF-IPC autologous adipose-derived insulin-producing cells

Investigator-led (Tokushima)

What it is

A Japanese first-in-human Phase 1/2a trial of a person's own fat-derived stem cells turned into insulin-producing cells (TUFF-IPC) and placed in the mesentery. Target enrolment is three people. No results are posted.

Editorial review: .

Most recent recorded citation date: 2026-05-18. Only explicit date metadata is included; an undated citation may be newer. This does not mean every claim was reviewed on that date.

Trial status, labels and access can change between reviews. How we review the evidence · How to read the evidence

Full sources ↓Full discussion ↓Report an issue →

Years awayEarly evidencestem-cellautologousadiposeisletcell-therapyOfficial site ↗

Evidence behind this assessment

Key evidence notes. Study results, product eligibility and access answer different questions.

Who was studied?
Study populations and analysis groups vary. Product age limits alone do not describe who was studied.See the linked studies and their populations →
Benefit or performance
Insulin independence: No human result is posted. Insulin independence is an exploratory hope, not a measured outcome.[1]
Important harms and treatment burden
Immunosuppression-free: The product is autologous, so allo-rejection is not the design problem. The public protocol does not state a drug-free regimen, and autoimmunity is not solved by using the recipient's own fat cells.[1]
Approval and country access
Country-specific approval and access are not summarized in this record.Approval, trial recruitment, local supply and funding are separate. Check the cited label or access source.
Follow-up and remaining uncertainty
Durability: Protocol follow-up for efficacy markers runs to 360 days. Nothing has been shown to last.[1]

Research status alone does not establish approval, clinical benefit or local availability.

Editorial score: calculation and evidence

A weighted editorial judgment on a 0–100 scale, not a probability of success or a measured treatment effect. Higher criterion scores mean more favorable assessments.

Default calculation: 5 × 30 + 5 × 20 + 40 × 20 + 22 × 10 + 12 × 10 + 20 × 10 = 1590; divide by total weight 100. Unrounded weighted result: 15.9.

Insulin independence5

No human result is posted. Insulin independence is an exploratory hope, not a measured outcome.[1]

Durability5

Protocol follow-up for efficacy markers runs to 360 days. Nothing has been shown to last.[1]

Immunosuppression-free40

The product is autologous, so allo-rejection is not the design problem. The public protocol does not state a drug-free regimen, and autoimmunity is not solved by using the recipient's own fat cells.[1]

Low invasiveness22

Fat harvest plus laparoscopic placement into the mesentery near the ligament of Treitz is surgery, not an infusion.[1]

Eligibility breadth12

First-in-human, target n=3, ages 18–65 inclusive, Tokushima only. Not a path most people with T1D can enter.[1]

Maturity20

Registered recruiting Phase 1/2a (jRCT2063250055). First participant enrolled 27 January 2026; last jRCT publication 18 May 2026. A first enrollment date is not a C-peptide result.[1]

The full picture

TUFF-IPC is an autologous adipose-to-islet programme: a person's own fat-derived stem cells are differentiated toward insulin-producing cells and transplanted laparoscopically into the mesentery. Because the cells are the recipient's, this is not a donor-islet shortage story — and it is also not proof that autoimmunity will leave the graft alone.

The only registered study is a three-person first-in-human trial in Tokushima (jRCT2063250055), recruiting as of a live check on 27 August 2026. The registry's own last publication date is 18 May 2026; the first participant was enrolled on 27 January 2026. Safety to day 60 is the primary endpoint. Fasting C-peptide of at least 0.3 ng/mL (0.1 nmol/L) is the protocol's engraftment mark, not a posted result. Do not read a Japanese registry listing, or a first-enrollment date, as insulin independence.

Coming soon

ETA · Phase 1/2a recruiting in Tokushima; first enrolled 27 Jan 2026; n=3; no efficacy timeline

Sources

  1. [1]
    jRCT2063250055 — investigator-initiated FIH of autologous adipose-derived insulin-producing cells in type 1 diabetes · Trial registry · 2026-05-18 — Recruiting (募集中). Target n=3. First enrollment 27 January 2026; last jRCT publication 18 May 2026 (Reiwa 8-05-18). Ages 18–65. Dose 1,100–1,500 IE/kg into mesentery. Primary endpoint is safety to day 60 after transplant. Engraftment defined as fasting C-peptide at least 0.3 ng/mL (0.1 nmol/L). Inclusion also requires at least one severe hypoglycaemia in 12 months, defined in part as needing assistance with glucose ≤60 mg/dL (3.3 mmol/L).